Crazy Quilt stocking (part 1)

As Christmas approaches I spent one delightful evening creating my first Crazy Quilt Stocking! GFE-RCQ-stockingI used existing elements from many of my collections and did my first experiment with curved fabric joins. Obviously it is not possible to attach and fold over the fabric on curves so I have added complex stitches to the curves so that the fabric is well secured. The stocking is stitched out in a 12″ by 8″ hoop and I will try and adapt it later on for those who do not have this size of hoop. Five pieces of fabric are stitched and placed upon the original fabric before the embroidery work begins. I selected 11 colours for the embroidery.

In my first test stocking I use various silk dupion fabric pieces and even added dark red velvet for the toe. I used cream, beige, gold and dark red silk on top of green silk dupion. blank stockingThe finished stocking measures 11.5″ so it is not really big enough to hold very much should you make it as a proper stocking. It will however look great just as a decoration, and I hope to create three to hang from my mantelpiece. I backed my stocking with some batting (wadding) and put white velvet on the back. Then I turned it right side out to finish it off. I noticed that one of the seams pulled out in this process but I shall cover this with some sort of embellishment. As this happened I will adjust the heavy stitches that cover the curved segments on the toe and heel.

The stocking will be released around Friday 14th November, 2014 available in ARTv3, ARTv6, DST, EXP, JEF, PES, VP3 and XXX formats at $15 along with a detailed tutorial. Remember that you require a 300 mm x 200 mm (12″ by 8″) hoop to create the stocking. I will endeavour to show you my embellishment before release.

This entry was posted in Embroidery projects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crazy Quilt stocking (part 1)

  1. Lorna Coady says:

    Awesome!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

